Born in April 1995, the Prix HSBC pour la Photographie enters its 26th year of sponsoring young photographic creators and continues to support the work of its Laureats with a traveling exhibition and help in the production of new work, whilst instilling momentum into the winners.

The annual contest is open from December until January for all professional photographers who have never published a monograph, regardless of age or nationality. 

Each year, an artistic advisor is selected to bring a new perspective to a preselection of a dozen candidates.  This is then presented to an Executive Committee who choose the 2 laureates. 

Supporting the two artists

The HSBC Prize for Photography supports its two winners by promoting their works through the following actions :

  • Publication of the first monograph of each artist by l’Atelier EXB
  • Creation and organisation of a travelling exhibition of their works in cultural venues
  • Production of new images
  • HSBC in France acquires a minimum of six works per winner for its photographic collection

Executive Committee

as of 1st February 2021

The Executive Committee, composed of representatives from the artistic and cultural domain and representatives from the HSBC Group, is responsible for choosing the artistic advisor, who elects the laureates and validates the actions of Prix HSBC pour la Photographie.

The Committee is chaired by Christophe de Backer, Board Director, member of the Global Executive Committee, HSBC Global Asset Management.


Christian Caujolle
Journalist, Writer and Founder of the agency and la Galerie VU

François Cheval
Independant Curator

Axelle Davezac
Managing Director – Fondation de France

Matthieu Humery
Curator, photography specialist

Chantal Nedjib
President – L’image par l’image


Samir Assaf
President, Corporate and Institutional Banking, HSBC Holdings plc

Florence Basset
Regional Director – North, Retail Banking, HSBC Continental Europe

Mounira Benissad
Lawyer – Private Bank and Wealth Management, HSBC Continental Europe

Antoine Giscard d’Estaing
Vice-Chairman, GBM France, HSBC Continental Europe

Philippe Henry
Global Head of Corporate, Financials and Multinationals Banking, HSBC Bank Plc

Artistic Advisors

Every year, the Artistic Advisor brings a new perspective to the Prix, choosing a dozen finalists which he presents to the Executive Committee.

The Artistic Advisor supports the Prix HSBC throughout the year.

2021, Sylvie Hugues, photography consultant and artistic director of
the Festival du Regard

2020, Fannie Escoulen, Curator

2019, Stefano Stoll, Director, Festival Images, Vevey, Switzerland

2018, Raphaëlle Stopin, Artistic Direction, Centre of Photography, Rouen

2017, Maria Garcia Yelo, Director of PHotoEspaña, Madrid

2016, Diane Dufour, Director of BAL, Paris

2015, François Cheval, Head of Museums in Chalon-sur-Saône et Curator in Chief of the Musée Nicéphore Niépce

2014, Simon Baker, Curator of Photography, Tate Modern, London

2013, Emmanuelle de l’Ecotais, Head of the Photography Collection, Musée d’Art Modene, Paris

2012, Rafael Doctor Roncero, Art historian and exhibition manager

2011, Agnès Sire, Director and exhibition organiser at the Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson

2010, Bernard Marcelis, Historian of training, art critic and exhibition organiser

2009, Olivier Saillard, Director of fashion exhibitions at the Musée des Arts décoratifs in Paris

2008, Chantal Grandé, Owner and Chairman of the gallery FORVM in Tarragone (Spain)

2007, Alain Sayag, Curator of the Musée National d’Art Moderne, Centre Pompidou, in charge of photography

2006, Gilles Mora, Manager of the photography collection for Editions du Seuil

2005, Oliva Maria Rubio, Head of Exhibitions at Fabricà (Madrid)

2004, Carol Brown, a specialist in contemporary art †

2003, Giovanna Calvenzi, Head of Photography for Sportweek

2002, Robert Delpire, Head of the Photo Poch Collection and Managing Director of the Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson, editor †

2001, Alain D’Hooghe, Photo journalist, exhibition curator, and professor of history and photography

2000, Jacqueline d’Amecourt, Curator of the Lhoist Collection

1999, Alain Mingam, former Editor-in-chief of photography at Sygma, Gamma and Le Figaro

1998, Jérôme Sans, art critic and exhibition curator

1997, François Hébel, Manager of the “Rencontres d’Arles”

1996, Christian Caujolle, Manager of the photographer agency “Vu”